Coffee with coworker

Hey everyone,

I thought I'd share my recent situation with a coworker.

I work for a very big company, with lots of different departments, and last week a coworker from a different department, different team that I had never met before asked me for coffee during work hours. I was a little surprised since we didn't know each other.

A month ago, he asked me to do something on a project he was working on - by email. He then went on holidays so I communicated with his manager. He came back from holidays last week and sent me a message to ask about the project. He then asked me for coffee. I said yes because I'm still rather new in the company so I thought it'd be nice to meet new people. The project was already finalized by then and we are not working on a new one for now.

He made sure we would be at the office on the same day (we can work from home too). He sent me a message the day before to confirm, and on the day of he confirmed the time. I had coffee, or was supposed to have one, with other coworkers in the past but most of them were too busy or just canceled so I was thinking he might cancel too but he didn't.

When we finally met this week for the first time, it was very nice, he was very talkative and funny, and I think there was some flirting too. I also realized that we had actually met already before - it was at our Christmas party, we talked very briefly and I'm not sure he remembers.

While we were drinking coffee, he invited me to go for drinks after work with him and his team the next time they go out. I said yes but I don't know anyone from his team except for him, and I don't feel very comfortable in groups when I don't know many people.

At the same time, I'd like to get to know this coworker a little better, he seems like a nice guy.

Also, after coffee I went back to my desk and he sent me a message shortly after that it was nice to meet me.