Maybe this is a silly problem... but it bugs me that he always wants to help

BlueEternity

My boyfriend and I have been together just over six months, so this may be one of those "early stages" things that irons itself out, but my boyfriend has a tendency to offer to help or ask if he can do something to help whenever I express frustration at a problem... regardless if it is something he could plausibly help with. Examples include offering to drive over and bring me lunch when I left mine at home (I am a teacher, and his work is more than an hour's drive from mine), asking if he could help multiple when I was scrambling to finish a video editing project for my class (although he said up front he knows nothing about video editing), or when my deep cleaning project wasn't going so great (he was at work, we don't live together, and I absolutely would not want him going through all my junk)... I could go on. It happens constantly.

I know he is probably trying to be sweet and caring by making things easier for me, but since there's nothing he can (realistically) do, it is just frustrating to me. It makes me feel like I have to divert time and energy away from dealing with whatever the issue is to coming up with a gentle way to tell him that no, of course he can't help me. I feel like if I am always telling him, "no, don't help me" he is going to feel rejected and stop offering, but the truth is that I am really fine with him helping...when it is something he can actually help with, and I have asked him for help with both little and big stuff in the past. (Although it is true that I am not great as a person at asking for help when I need it.) I also sometimes feel like I can't tell him about problems because he might just decide he has to make some grandiose gesture to fix it, and I would much rather he save that kind of emotional energy for situations that actually need it.

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply