Verbal & emotional abuse but can’t seem to leave

AJAMJ

Two years ago I did a blind move while 6 weeks postpartum for my husbands job. It moved me away from all family and friends into a rural area and I am a city girl. 

My husband has been increasingly verbally and emotionally abusive toward me and my 2 year old is beginning to realize it and defend me against him. 

He bit my two year old as punishment for biting her brother and he left a giant mark that lasted weeks. I reported him to child services as I was horrified of his form of discipline. I do not spank or harm my children in any way as punishment. I am a former early childhood teacher who knows biting a child is wrong. I believe that is also common sense.

I’ve been doing counseling and all my family members and friends want me to leave my husband and go home with my children. I want to go home too but something is stopping me from outright divorcing him. If I was giving advice to someone in my situation I would tell them to leave too however I feel ashamed and scared to do so.

It’s so hard hearing everyday that everything I do or say is wrong and he won’t stop bothering me about how I raise our children. He tells me it’s disgusting and I’m stunting them when I’ve taught and worked as a nanny for years with no issues with multiple children. There’s always another problem or he tells me I don’t speak properly or I don’t understand my own reality. He says I distort reality when I have documented things for 2 years now and know it all is true.