I lie so much about myself to people at work

Fudgie

I'm trying to figure out if I have a problem.

I work at a hospital, under nurses. I spend 95% of my time with patients. Once in a while, I will have to spend tons of time one on one (sometimes 8-12 hours at a time) with one patient who needs someone constantly there, like if they are suicidal or something. Sometimes these patients are violent and attack me, other times, they are regular old people.

Anyway, I realize that I end up lying to nearly every patient I am with, but what I say depends on who they say they are.

For example, the truth: I am an atheist, I cohabitate, I am not liberal, I don't want children and am not fond of them, I did my 4 year degree already and know 2 other languages.

But I lie all the time when I'm asked about myself. I never offer up a lie on my own, it's only when I'm asked. I am scared to say I can't talk about it because people can be crazy and react badly. I'm encouraged to make conversation at my job. It's not like I can just ignore or brush off.

Very Christian patient? I lie about a belief in God and going to church. If they want to pray with me, I say a prayer with them using appropriate bible verses I learned when I was young.

Openly agnostic/atheist patient? I say I'm still figuring things out for myself but I'm young and will figure it out.

Very traditional, self righteous patient? I pretend not to have a boyfriend and if they ask if I party or drink, I say absolutely not.

I pretend to like or not mind really stupid, innane shows that they like and want to watch with me in the room.

I listen to awful bigoted statements from some and if asked if I agree, I'll smile and say "to be honest, I haven't really thought about that. I'm sheltered. Tell me more!" I'd rather listen to them spew hate speech to me than to get into a bad situation.

Politics? I don't know I don't watch the news I don't know anything about politics. (big big big lie)