Birthday cake for diabetic?

My boyfriend has type 2 diabetes. His birthday will be here not too much longer from now so I'm asking ahead of time to see if I can get any ideas or possibly some bakery that makes diabetic cakes? I know what kind of cake I want to get him but omg the sugar! Hes obsessed with superman so I figured a superman birthday cake would be perfect, though I'm not sure what flavor yet. Is there a way I can make or buy a diabetic birthday cake without having it taste like crap? He still eats sugar but not like he would a cake. I dont want to make a birthday cake(or anything for that matter) to spike his blood sugar/glucose. I'm new to all this diabetic stuff. And not familiar with what's ok to substitute with sugar or flour. Or if there's even any kind of bakery or store that does diabetic cakes. Please please help!?

My experience....my young son is a type 1 diabetic. The sugar free stuff typically has a substitute called sugar alcohol....so I learned the hard way....via chocolate syrup. Sugar alcohol is basically used by hospitals as a laxative. So what I've done with him, and yes I know type 1 and 2 are different....but with him, I've let him have regular bakery items at parties or on special occasions but of course in moderation. He has an insulin pump, so its fairly easy to monitor and adjust.

I'm no doctor, you might want to talk with one, but I'd just get a regular cake. I'm sure, unless he was just diagnosed with diabetes, that he can monitor and adjust and be ok as long as he doesn't eat the whole cake, alone, in one sitting.

Sugar free substitutes don't taste right with baking. And several as adviceplease mentioned function as laxatives. So they are not ideal.