Ended A Relationship - The Right Thing?

Apologies for a long post but it's important to provide the context to this story... I'm in my late 40s and for the better part of 8 months I'd been seeing a woman in her early 50s who has been married twice and has three children ranging from 12 to 30. She introduced me to her mother who immediately reacted towards me with prejudicial comments (I'm black) and I was rather disappointed that my GF failed to gently dissuade her from this and instead sat in silence. This was a foreshadowing of things to come.

The mother asked me about my level of education and I explained that I have a master's and the UK version of a summa cum laude bachelors degree - plus that I was also working towards a PhD. She expressed disapproval at my choices of university degrees - going as far as to tell me what I should've studied instead. Out of respect for my GF and wishing to keep the peace, I took it all in my stride, remained ultra-polite, smiled and brushed it off as best as possible. Things seemingly improved as the evening progressed and towards the end, the mother made a point of saying that I was welcome to return and visit her again.

However, my GF informed me that soon afterwards her mother had instructed her never to bring me over ever again as she disliked me and I'd made her feel uncomfortable. This was said in front of my GF's 12 year old daughter, which I thought was poor-form on numerous levels, especially that she deserved the opportunity to form her own opinion of me.

Later at a gathering, I was introduced by my GF to her 30 year old daughter who took one look at me and couldn't even bring herself to say hello and walked past me and spent the day speaking to everyone else in attendance. I subsequently discussed the incident with my GF and opined that she should ask her daughter why she behaved that way towards me but she refused to do so.