Dieting Advice

Would appreciate advice from those that have specific knowledge on dieting and weight loss. 

I'm at 245 pounds, wanting to lose about 100 pounds slowly, naturally. 

My friend lost about 60 pounds in 10 months. Her doctor put her on an 800 calorie daily diet for 4 months, then Ozempic after that. She barely worked out at all. Now she just takes ozempic daily so she isn't very hungry. 

I don't want to do that. I want to do it naturally without medication. 

Is it all about diet?

I'm starting a 1000 calorie a day diet. Will this help me lose weight?Do I need to kill myself working out on top of the diet? 

Edited to add- it's not all about diet - I agree with Cherlyn. I've been working out regularly since 1982 I mean 3-5 times a week and every single day no excuses for the last 12 years or so.  Only excuses: if i am very sick, if I am fasting for a procedure, if doctor said I can't (like when I had oral surgery my doc said I couldn't for a day or so because of the stitches). I've skipped a day  per year on average. 

I've never joined Weight Watchers but over all these years and from many people I regard as very reasonable and smart and stable -including about weight loss -this was the best program if you're going to do a program. I like what I hear about it promoting a healthy way of eating -a healthy lifestyle -not at all gimmicky.

Here are things that help me maintain my weight and sometimes I end up losing some but I do not need to:

I finally gave up all diet soda the last couple of years -I mean maybe in my lifetime I'll have one or less a year on average -like socially -but i guzzled a lot of diet coke/tab in my day! And other diet sodas.  For me it triggered carb cravings.  And it's awful for you. I stopped drinking regular soda in about 1980 when I was 14.  Also don't drink your calories -no juices etc.