The appeal of having babies?

turnthepage

I am 95% sure I do not want babies. However I am still relatively young at 26 and yet to start my career - I am an undergraduate.

The 95% centres on the fact it seems life would stop and would centre on my child when there is so much to do and see in the world myself. This isn't appealing and in turn I don't think it is selfish, I want an amazing career and I am horribly ambitious. I want to contribute to the world intellectually and in many other ways, just not maternally.

However, most guys I know and meet definitely do want babies. I guess the 5% appeal is that it's unconditional love and that is only a good thing. Perhaps my thoughts stem from an unconventional childhood and my mum has recently passed away so it's a shady area for me.

What is the appeal? Please do share your enthusiasm if you have it. It seems most people want babies and though I understand this stance from a genetics point of view.. I can't help thinking it's not for me and that there's so much more to life.

Enthusiasm will be greatly received! Though I do not want children and will probably not change my mind, I definitely want to fall in love and probably get married. Might be a challenge though with the aspiring baby making machines I frequently encounter

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am only 21 but i have wanted to have a family for years now. sounds crazy but sometimes i feel like one of my only purposes here on earth is to be an incredible mother/wife...i cannot wait to have my own family. that being said: i have never had career goals. my ultimate goal is to be super mom.

Kids are wonderful and i think being a mom is a full time job in its self. an awesome one at that.

If you have career goals then good for you!! focus on them! sounds cliche but "do what your heart desires!"

hopefully this helps.