I need some help, support and advice. Male and Female appreciated.

gunslingor

I've been working with a girl for many months, I had a huge crush on her but it was work so I had to be professional and could only drop tiny hints that I liked her. I took a 2 week vacation and when I returned she had quit. I tracked her down on linkedin and we started talking on there, then she gave me her email address. I sent her a picture of myself in Alaska and I think it moved her, a number of days later she finally responded "I've been mostly trying not to respond, but the picture you sent is getting to me". We then continued talking over email for a couple of weeks. I learned that she felt a connection between us at work as well, she even said she would call blatantly 'unnecessary' meetings just to see me (even though she had a boyfriend during this time); I was clueless but man I fantasized about her constantly, she's so wonderful and smart I could fall in love at any moment.

Finally she agreed to come out to dinner with me last Friday. She then canceled Thursday morning. She then agreed to come over Thursday night, and then canceled 1 hour later... I was very upset and was just trying to leave her alone because I think she needs some time. She wasn't happy with me being upset and I think I was inadvertently mean to her... I had an upset tone. She ended up coming over Thursday at the last minute, I was so happy. We talked for 5 hours straight, drank wine, played with the dog and ended up making out. I fear I shouldn't have let her leave that night, I could have convinced her to stay with me but was trying to be the better man... I fear I would be in a better position if I had made her stay, I fear being a gentleman has screwed my chances.