Should I ask him if hes thought about seeing a doctor?

Enigmatical

I’ve seen this guy off and on and our relationship has been very unstable, partly because there’s been long distance but I’ve also noticed something deeper that might be going on, something cognitive or psychological that could be causing his shifting moods and behavioral patterns. To the person who doesn’t know him too well, he’ll come off as very charismatic and funny, and sweet. Then I started to notice his impulsiveness and recklessness. He’s been pretty flaky with me and his mom and friends have said he’s the same with them too. There are times when he disappears for weeks to months and then reappears with loving arms. Then he gets overwhelmed and ghosts everyone again.

I’m no doctor but I’ve had family with illnesses and after some independent study he seems likely of bipolar disorder, or borderline personality disorder or some form of depression. It’s the only type of thing that explains his behavior. I know he’s a great guy and I know he loves me, but I sense a certain lack of control over himself.

But should I talk to him about it? And if so, what approach should I use?

Speaking from personal experience: he is very unlikely to take your suggestion well.

And you are probably not the first person to want to suggest he seek help. If he's this erratic, people have almost certainly brought it to his attention before, and yet, he is still displaying the same unstable behaviour. That should tell you something about his willingness to acknowledge a problem and seek out help for it.

I would be very, very wary of proceeding with someone you describe this way.