How many people still stay in crappy, unloving marriages?

That's the way how my parents' marriage is like as of this point. It has been deteriorating more as the years passed by and they are just pretending to be happy in front of others by posting exciting pictures of them smiling on facebook. It's all fake.

Well my father has such a controlling personality no wonder my mother has long stopped loving him and in return, my mother tends to sometimes throw tantrums. Both of them are unstable with their own anger issues (only it's worse when it's my father losing control). How many marriages in this age are like that? I hate to admit this but I have a pessimistic view towards marriage.

I still want to move out but I'm in my last year of college and can't afford an apartment yet, but it's been in my mind for the longest.

The excuses my mother gave me for not divorcing him:

1) She's afraid of what will others and her cousins think of her as a divorced woman and downgraded back to the start when she met my father; poor

2) She'll afraid of being poor all over again

3) Her famous lines ''If I do, where would I live, he'll take over all the money''?

The excuses my mother gave me for not divorcing him:

1) She's afraid of what will others and her cousins think of her as a divorced woman and downgraded back to the start when she met my father; poor

2) She'll afraid of being poor all over again

3) Her famous lines ''If I do, where would I live, he'll take over all the money''?

Women who say this are extremely dependent on their husbands to make the living. Fortunately for many of us, we live in the 21st century where women can obtain higher education/job training, and either make the same salary amount as men or become the breadwinners. And in most cases... the women who are the "breadwinners" have a higher chance of divorcing if things go sour because they can take care of yourself.