Do I file bankrupt?

Will bankruptcy fix my dilemma? I thought I was co-signing on a truck for my at the time boyfriend, but turns out my name got put at the first on the loan. We are not together anymore. When we were together, he never made payments on time, every payment is at least 29 days late, and his mother has made 3 of the 6 payments he has made in the last 9 months since he got it. He has not paid the sales tax so he is driving it illegally. Also, there is a $7,000 lean on his truck he traded tacked onto the loan, so the loan is like $22,000. I refuse to pay for any of it while he is driving it. I have no signed the title, for it was never licensed. If I file bankruptcy will it get me out of the situation? I do not want my wages garnished or be taken to court over his truck. Do I do it now and get out of it, or wait until it's urgent? I am a recent college graduate and will lose nothing but the truck if I file, but what will happen to the truck and to him if I file? He claims that he will get to keep it and i will still have to pay?

A bankruptcy will not only ruin your credit for many years, but can seriously hinder your ability to get jobs, rent an apartment, get loans, etc. Don't take it lightly because you do in fact have a lot to lose and it can come back to haunt you even years down the road in a bad way. On top of that, you may not even qualify for it. It's really not quite as simple as you think.