Is it wrong to want a nice car?

I'm in my early 40's making near 6 figures. I have a decent house that could use some fixing up and pretty much everything else I want. I feel like I've "made it" but there's one last piece of the puzzle. I drive 14 year old POS car.

I know, the horror, right?

My wife drives our newer mini van which I'm fine with and DO NOT want to drive. She is a stay at home mom and she needs it for hauling around the kids and the cargo space.

I've been eyeing a car that goes for the low 20s a couple years used that I really like. I would like to buy it soon as the van's paid off next year. My wife gets pissed when I talk about it though, mainly because she views it as a threat, that she's 'getting in my way' if I don't get it. I've assured her that I'm not resentful and I'm not going to go surprise her and bring one home or anything like that. It's a looker, 'manly' car, but I can assure you, it's not for picking up chicks.

We don't have any debt, at all, besides the mortgage and car payment. It would be kind of a tight fit with some of the other things we want to have (together), but not out of the question.

Should I just stop talking about it? (note: I'm not going to make her get a job even though sometimes I'd like her to).

If I were you, I'd hush up until the van is paid off. Then you can start working on replacing a 15 year old car that could need major repairs (with a major hassle) before too much longer. Engine or transmission work can take weeks and that is a royal pain.

Do your research into the car you *want* to get and compare to some others. Check for recalls and known issues also. Those "known issues" can kill your wallet. Price, average repair costs, insurance, maintenance, and normal operating expenses like fuel economy. You don't want to swap a 15 year old POS for a newer POS with a payment on top of it.