I'm a professional, he's not.

Hi all,

Looking for a bit of advice here. I've recently got a new, professional, job that pays me well. This money has allowed me finally to move out with my boyfriend, and we have a house secured for later this month. We're both really excited to be finally moving in together. The problem is that my job isn't the kind of 9-5 job that my boyfriend has. I can't leave work at the door, I often have to respond to emails and call clients late into the evening, or even liaise with my colleagues/boss at late hours (or early ones). As this is a new job as well I am trying to show my willingness to work out of normal working hours as I have a 6 month contract with them that will be extended if I prove myself to be valuable to the company. I have always hoped to have a job that I enjoy and one that does not conform to the standard hours of work, and have gained a masters degree to ensure this doesn't happen.

My boyfriend is not happy with this, although he has known this was my intention from the beginning of our relationship. A few times now I have had to work up to 11pm and he gets very angry about it. I can completely understand his frustration and try to keep the work to a minimum but sometimes I just have to respond to people. He said to me today that 'At 5 o'clock, you're mine, you're not your boss's. Leave work at the door' and then gave me a countdown as to when I had to log off my emails or he would walk out.