"Friends" at work telling me I am being ungrateful...

blackluna14

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here and to tell you the truth, I feel a little lame for posting about this but I wanted insight from an outside perspective.

I have been working at an agency for about 4 years along with 2 of my friends from grad school, J and B. Recently a division in the agency offered a position all 3 of us were interested in, but B hates her current job so much she wanted it the most.

One day, I missed a phone call from an unknown number and the voicemail was not clear (the voice was breaking as though the person on the other end had poor reception) so I deleted the message and didn't think anything of it. Almost immediately, I received a group text message where B shared she got an interview so I put two and two together and realized that was the number that had called. So I verified that with her and called them back. I never thought that was a big deal until now.

The day of the interview came about and I took the time slot B turned down. Now, I got the position and B did not. J and B have been cold and distant to the point that I decided not to have lunch with them as frequently as before.

Yesterday I was having lunch with J and when I was trying to voice how I felt about the situation, she snapped at me telling me if "I felt lucky" that B told me I had missed that call and told me how B somehow got me to where I am. She even brought up the fact I took the time slot that was supposed to be B's.

B made similar comments when I went to check if she was ok the day we found out she didn't get it. As much as I appreciate the fact B confirmed that was my missed call, I do not feel she "got me" anywhere...but I am guessing the full conversation with J got to me slightly.

In the middle of the conversation, she accused me of "getting easily offended and being too sensitive" so I guess I'm trying to share my experience to see what an outside person would think about this.