Why do people think im incompetent?

wai

So tomorrow is my last day at my current job. Normally people go out for lunch whenever someone leaves the team. But i just found out like there is no plan so far.

I usually don't like to be put on the spot, so I'm ok that they are not going out. But there is something that bothers me like, all these people pretend to be close to me, then right when i'm about to leave they all act like strangers.

Also another thing i found out from one of my project manager is that, my previous project manager told him i'm not very productive.

I usually work harder than most people here but i don't present myself well in the team. When someone make a mistake and break my code (i'm a software developer, if you guys don't know what i do for a living) i don't go around throwing people under the bus to make myself look good. I go to them directly, if that is something i cant fix easily. If its something i can do, i work even overtime to fix it.

But i really don't understand what i have been doing wrong to make them think that I'm incompetent. Can someone point it out to me, what i have been doing wrong? I would like to change that at my next job.

You answered your own question. When someone else messed up what you did, you cover for them and take it on yourself to fix. Thus the management doesn't know what actually happened, they only see that YOUR code is broken. So they can only go by the information that they have about you. Your code broken, you are having to work OT to fix it, you must not be very competent.