I like a guy, but we can never be

Alex39

I started working a new job 4 years ago. I struck up a friendship with a woman in her 60s there and we've been friends ever since. I see her as a mother figure. When she got to know me, she would say how her son and I were so much alike. And she was even hoping he dated me. She gave him my number and he started texting me, just for help getting a job, because I know a lot of people in town.  He and I have been texting on and off for 3 years now. We chat about politics and sometimes other stuff.  He lives with his parents at home. He's 34. But I don't judge him. He was in the military, got out, and then went to college later in life. So he's trying to figure out his career and life.  I know a lot of people so I've tried connecting him and get him jobs. 

My co-worker- his mom and I are very good friends still and she claims that he'd like to take me out but he feels embarrassed and won't because he has nothing to offer me. No money, living with his parents, with nothing. She now says she hopes I meet other more available guys. 

I get his insecurity. I finally met him in-person a few weeks ago. He's everything. He's cute, smart, nice, friendly. 

He's honestly my dream guy. We have so much in common. We even finish each other's sentences. We think the same. It's weird. I really really like him. 

Yesterday I went over their house to help him with some job applications and I stayed all day. I talked with him, his mom, his brother, his dad. It was so comfortable and nice. He and I really hit it off and it felt natural to be around each other, though this was purely professional.  I really like him. 

But he won't ask me out. And I have no idea if he likes me back, though everyone I know thinks he does. But he feels like a failure in life and so unworthy.