Unsure of next move with older man

emrhi

One month ago I connected with someone online who I felt incredibly drawn to because of his educational credentials and maturity and who is twice my age. As a 20 year old young woman who is very introverted and depressed, meeting guys my age, let alone feeling attracted to them and them to me has been virtually impossible. I have always fantasized about being involved with a much older man because of unresolved issues with my father who was / is an emotionally abusive, uncaring alcoholic. This man fascinated me, and it was actually me who contacted him first. He is an academic with three master's degrees and a PhD in a field I am studying currently at university. Not only that, but he is highly knowledgeable about the arts and even corresponded with a famous writer when he was around my age. Even better, we met up and had a picnic that lasted almost an entire day, just conversing about books, art, and our inner struggles (both with depression).

However, despite the level we connect on, and the constant communication we developed, there were still some things that I felt ambivalent about. Firstly, his rigorous education has not enabled him to land any kind of secure job. He was a lifelong student and only finished his dissertation at age 38, after being in school since before I was born. That doesn't detract from his brilliance to me, but I worry about what kind of future I could have with someone older who isn't even employed (he is looking for work-- he has taught some university classes but not been able to cobble together a living, as they only pay a few thousand each. He applies for tenured positions when he sees them). So for the time being he is living with his mom and (he had moved to Europe for 8 years and came back for his PhD). In many ways, he is sort of emotionally stunted, and his longest relationship has only been 1.5 years, although he has had many casual relationships.