Open Club  ·  99 members  ·  Free

Journals

Sober from heroin and opiates

melissap1991

Hey guys, my name's Melissa. I'm a 21 year old college student and I work part time.

Within the last year or so I've found myself in a pretty bad sitauation. This is my first time ever writing in a forum or anything, but I'm not really sure what to do. My boyfriend and I got into a car accident a little while back where someone rear-ended me when I was stopping for an ambulance. Long story short, in order for us to cope from the pain of our injuries, we started self-medicating. We both have been shooting up heroin & dilaudeds daily. At 1st I never really considered myself an 'addict', but as time grew on things begain to get worst. I couldn't go a day without shooting up. I've spent stupid money on these drugs and last week I finally said enough is enough and decided after a year of being addicted to these terrible drugs and quit cold turkey. After about the 1st day, my withdrawals got so bad that I ended up in the hospital. I couldn't stop puking, I was have bad cold and hot sweats, my entire body was aching the worst pain I'd ever felt, my head was pounding and I felt like I was litterally going to fall over dead because I was refusing to feed my body anymore of the drugs. My doctor's in the hospital put me on this medication called Suboxen. It helps with the withdrawal pain and my cravings for herion & opiates, but I find myself feeling depressed a lot.

I was in the hospital for three nights before I was release. Yesterday was my one week mark of being sober, but it's getting really hard. I'm basically writing this because I had wondered if there was anyone else that could relate to what I'm going through and give me tips on how to stay sober. I take the suboxen twice a day under my tongue, but it's pretty expensive. On Monday I start counceling and I'm going find out if my insurance company will help pay for the Subs.