To everyone that's getting tired of hearing me complain...

... You won't have to for a while.

I finally found a job. Friday was my first day.

This is a Graphic Design job... I never thought I would be working in this field... but I guess I am pretty good at it, so my boss says anyway.

I am working in a print shop, I was hired to scan photos and make minor adjustments with Photoshop. I know Photoshop pretty well, after all these years of living with a Graphic Designer I've picked up a lot.

My boss was pretty impressed with my skill level in Photoshop so he asked me to try doing some T-Shirt designs. He just wanted to see what I could do. Well, he really liked what I came up with, so now I'll be doing some of that too.

I saw the ad for this job in the paper on Thursday. I didn't expect to be hired. I figured they wouldn't hire me because even though I know Photoshop, I've never had a job using it, so in their eyes I have no experience. But it's worth a shot anyway. So I went in and filled out an application and gave them a copy of my resume'.

The guy I talked to seemed like kind of a douche, so I figured that was a complete waste of time.

Then, two hours later I get a phone call. They wanted me to come back as soon as possible for an interview. After ten minutes of talking to the two owners of the company, I was hired.

So now I am still getting used to all this. I don't think it's really sunk in yet. But I just thought I would let everyone here know. After how many threads about my 6 month job hunt I am sure I was getting annoying, lol.

Congrats, man.

I am trying to get into graphic design.. maybe you can give me some advice.

I am self-taught and so far has sent out alot of applications. So far, no luck. I know its a competitive field. In my area the job market is saturated with graphic designers.

Would undergoing a formal program make me more competitive...?

I heard some say that for every graphic design job there are hundreds of applications.