To stay or let her go? Anxiety & depression is tearing our relationship apart.

lonelyboy1923

I'm 28 years old and have been in relationships before, but nothing this serious or committed. This is the first time I've moved in with someone and decided to share my life with them, and I'm really trying to make this work because I believe my girlfriend and I have a future together. My girlfriend and I have been together for 3 years, and we've lived together now for 1.5.

I'm not really good at this stuff, but to sum it up I feel like I am dating half a person lately ... and I'm faced with a really difficult decision to either try and make this work or simply let it go.

I want to make sure I'm making the right decision for myself, my girlfriend, and I'm wondering if anyone out there has been in a similar situation or can impart some wisdom from an outside perspective.

My girlfriend suffers from anxiety and depression - but lately it's completely consumed her. Her new job is very demanding; she works 6 days a week, 44+ hours a week. Since she is one of 3 employees, sometimes she is working 12 or 14 days straight before she gets a day off. Her boss has no interest in changing this pace or raising wages for compensation - at least not for the foreseeable future. It's obvious to me that she's unhappy, burnt out and overworked; mentally, emotionally and physically. Most nights she vents her stresses to me, then wants to be left alone. Weekends are spent vegetating indoors and watching netflix because she doesn't have much energy for anything else. She constantly tells me how miserable she is with every aspect of her life (including me and our relationship), and how she constantly wants to die. It's frightening and downright unhealthy.

It's been like this for the better half of the year... So where does this leave me? Well, to be honest, I don't know.