My girlfriend (36F) kept me (41M) up all night before an important work project.

Something pretty heavy just happened in my relationship, and I'm reeling, exhausted and devastated.

Last week, I had an important film shoot (I'm a producer/director). I was delayed in picking up the gear, so it was 10:30PM or so before I had a chance to check all the equipment in our shared studio apartment. Still, it was 1:30hrs of work at most, and I could still get enough sleep that night.

My girlfriend arrived home around 10:00PM or so and the moment I started looking over the gear, she asked me if I needed help with the equipment. Initially, I thought this was a little unusual of an offer because she and I both knew that she doesn't know the gear. I politely reminded her of that fact, and that what I needed now was total quiet so I can focus on the 8-10 bags I had in my possession (to make sure nothing was missing, everything worked, to charge the batteries, etc.) We had done projects together in the past (with her starring, she's an artist), and she knew enough to know that, well, she didn't know the gear. So I continued to my task at hand.

Then the next question came (Do you want to look over your storyboards?). "I said, no, actually storyboards have been done for two days. What I really need is quiet." And then the next question came (Do you need help with interview questions?). I repeated a similar thing: "No, interview questions are done. I just need quiet." There was nowhere for me to go in our small studio apartment, so at one point I put on Airpods to drown her out but she still talked over the music! I had audio gear, camera gear and lighting, so even the smallest missing piece could be costly on the day of the shoot. It wasn't a hard task but I needed to be really focused for that hour and a half.