Conflict after death in family

fionaapple

Hi all,

I am dealing with a very recent death (less than 1 week) of a dear family member. The death was quick, but the time from diagnosis to death was approx. 5 weeks. I quit my job to care for this loved family member and it was the best choice for me and the family, I'm so glad I did. I am a grief professional, so while I am dealing with all that comes with loss and caring for the others in my family affected, I am overwhelmed at how wonderful people have been to me. Friends, colleagues, neighbors all rallying around making this time easier for me.

The one person I want to count on, my partner, has completely gone m.i.a. She is the only person who didn't call me the day of, and subsequent days. I have been calling her. I get text check ins from concerned friends here and there and the fact my own girlfriend hasn't done anything like that is like the loudest silence I've heard. I had people asking if I needed a drive home after the death, people trying to rearrange schedules to help me out. She simply asked if id like to hang out after she'd done her errands, no offer for anything practically helpful.

Yesterday, mothers day, was very hard. I have been cleaning out her clothing, jewelry dealing with all the little things to unravel a life well lived. I reached out to my girlfriend and she said some very strange things like.. don't stay inside all day, enjoy the day, sit in the sun.. etc.. mean while I was cleaning out a moldy fridge as that was something that totally slipped my mind for the past few weeks while dealing with day to day hospice. I was feeling sad, shame, regret, fear, anxiety and the response from her sent me straight to ANGER.