Sick partner, what to do?

Claudia68

I am a 48 old professional woman, divorced (over five years), attractive. I have a very good life, great job, two wonderful sons, house, I travel but I do feel something lacking and is having someone to love and who would love me back. I haven't been lucky finding that someone. Am I picky? In some ways, I am not looking for hook ups, I want a meaningful relationship with a smart, cultured, good man who share some of my interests like traveling. I have dated (meet) several, had two relationships, fall in love once. But I always find these good men have been burned with a bad divorce and are afraid of making a commitment. Last summer I met someone (business related) who is 18 older than me but smart and a great person. At the beginning I was very cautious, I was worry about the age difference, but he really went overboard in courting me, was extremely nice, funny and sweet with my family, introduced me two his best two friends, was making plans for us. We won a big piece of my heart... sex was great... mid September he started to cool off, changed, wouldn't call me as much, always too busy.. I kind of confronted him and he told me (almost crying )that he was almost certain he had prostate cancer, he is a colon cancer survivor so he was afraid the two instances were part of the same thing... I offered my full support (from the button of my heart) but he kept telling that it wasn't fair for me to get tangled in this being that our relationship was so new...he's had several surgeries..