Thoughts on joint bank accounts

Okay, so my husband and I have been together for almost 7 years and married for a little over 1 year. We do not have joint bank accounts.After we got married, my husband said that he would never get a joint account with a woman. I kind of just assumed that we would have joint bank accounts when we were married. We lived together for 2 years before we got married and I was looking forward to not having to split the cost every single little thing. Here we are after being married for over a year and still splitting the cost of every. single. thing. I’m also a teacher with a second job making about $40,000 a year and he makes $80,000 a year. It bothers me that I have to work 2 jobs to live comfortably because he won’t get a joint account with me and he gets to live great because he makes 2x as much as I do. He pays all of his personal bills (truck payment, insurance, phone), I pay all of my personal bills (car, phone, insurance) and then we split all of the shared bills down the middle. I also get tired of constantly having to ask him to pay me back for stuff I bought for him and vice versa. I’m also very bad about comparing my marriage (and myself) to others and everyone I know has joint bank accounts and it makes me feel “less married”. What are your thoughts on joint accounts? I’m not struggling or anything like that but i am fairly bothered by this. If I even bring it up it turns into a fight so I haven’t brought it up in months.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I’m also a teacher with a second job making about $40,000 a year and he makes $80,000 a year. It bothers me that I have to work 2 jobs to live comfortably because he won’t get a joint account with me and he gets to live great because he makes 2x as much as I do.

My opinion is you're absolutely right to be bothered about this. If two people are married, they're not supposed to have different standards of life.