Is it ok to break up with my LD boyfriend over the phone?

Jennifer89

So, my boyfriend isn't really far away from me, he's 1 hour and 15 minutes. The reason I say "long distance" is because he has car problems and money problems so visiting often is not something that happens. I, on the other hand, just upgraded from a scooter (no interstate) to a motorcycle, and don't have enough driving experience to get on the interstate right now; I do, however, have the gas money to give to him. However, we both have time issues, we both work two jobs and I'm a full time student, which is another reason we don't see each other often. SO, with all of that said:

Should I pay for his gas and wait about 1 1/2 weeks to break up with him (when he says he will be able to come up, though those dates aren't a guarantee)? I'm ready to do it now, and I feel like a small person for wanting to do it on the phone, but I really don't want to pay out $30 on gas and wait 1 1/2 weeks just to do it in person. We've been dating since July, if that helps.

Ok... what should I do?

I think it is acceptable that you do it on the phone, since you are dating for three months now and it is complicated for you to meet. It's my opinion.

But I would also offer him the chance to meet and talk things out personally in case he asks you to talk about it personally.

Yes, in this specific situation I'd say it's ok to break up over the phone, no need to have him make the drive and for you to pay the gas and wait 10 days only to tell him it's over. If he really wants to talk in person after that, it would have to be on his own money.