Direction in life

Hi there,

I'm a university student looking for help. Basically, I'm a third year nursing student who is on track to graduate next year. However, between semesters this year, I have started to realize that maybe nursing isn't the best career fit for me. Within my first 2 years of study, I wanted to be a nurse so bad. I was so motivated and had no struggle with course load or clinical placements. But half way through this year, all of that changed. I've been so unmotivated and started to dread clinical placement as of late (which I think is a massive problem), it feels like I'm a different person all together now. I don't know if it just from stress between balancing school and my part time job, or if it is a sign I shouldn't be a nurse. I essentially want to be happy in life again but I feel as though it isn't possible with the way life is going.

I basically don't know if I should continue riding this feeling out, look at other career options, or taking a year off from studies to get my head straight. Has anyone felt this way in university before?

How far behind would you be if you took a year off? Would you have to retake any classes to get caught up? I think you should talk to a school counsellor about your options. Could be a year off is a good idea, and then you can decide if nursing is for you or not. Whatever, dont make any hasty decisions.

If I finish this semester and then take a year off, I wouldn't have to re-take any classes and I'd only be a year behind by doing so. If I dropped everything now, I'd have to retake 3 classes but then be essentially 2 years behind. I think I will talk the academic counselor for help tho I didn't really consider that as an option, thanks