Break up has left me alone in foreign city

km2

Hi,

This is my first time posting about here, so apologies for the long email.

My boyfriend of two years split up with me over easter. We had always had a somewhat tumultuous relationship, with a lot of pressure being placed on both of us after we had to move in together very quickly and had to make a decision to stay together and move across the world. However, although we had some difficulties, we also had a very clear plan together for what we wanted for the future, including where we would be living, when we would get married & have children etc. He was very much involved in this planning process, and right before we broke up we had filled out the application forms for him to come back to Australia with me on a partnership visa.

About a year after we met, we moved together to London (I am from Australia, where we met & he is from the UK) and I could see right away that he hated being there. It had been my idea to move to London, and although he didn't want to, he resented me for the move. He has trouble making new friends and difficulty with self esteem, so found it hard to live somewhere where he knew no one. Once I realised he wasn't going to settle in to London, I tried everything I could to convince him to move, or to make some other changes in our life to make him happier. But he could never tell me what he needed or wanted to feel better (would just say he didn't know), and kept saying he didn't want to 'fail' London by running away.