Boss, lover - shut out - need advice

DDLama

Today is Valentine’s Day and I am alone. This is how I got here and I need advice – badly.

What started out as a platonic work relationship turned into an amazing love affair, then into a disaster.

I took a job with a small company where I work from my home remotely (3,000 miles away) from the head office where he lives and works. He has an executive position with this company and is the boss of everyone and I’m a manager. At first I would see him from time to time at company related business meetings/events and then he turned his charm on me. He was very forward (asking for my room number) and I was reluctant to get romantically involved with him because of our positions – he was my bosses boss. I never gave him my room number, but I did break down and go to dinner with him one night – exactly one year ago tomorrow. My boss and co-workers did not like him and talked behind his back.

He started to arrange business trips were we would both be at and we eventually got together. The attention and sex was amazing. I thought I met the man of my dreams. He is 53 and I’m 48 – perfect. It felt amazing to be so loved.

I should have known better when I saw the first red flag about 2 months in. We were in Denver and we were having the most amazing sex I have ever had in my life and we decided to stay an extra day to spend together before going our separate ways home. He invited me to go to an exclusive French restaurant that evening and during the course of the night I made the smallest joke about him being emotional about wine tasting - he did not like that. That night he withheld his affection and would not make love to me. The next morning he told me that I was fat and he left. My birthday came and went and he never so much as even acknowledged it. His birthday was exactly the following month and I sent him anonymous flowers to the office. We kept our relationship a secret at work and we were very discrete.