Why won't this girl talk to me?

nastrow

My lab partner for school doesn't seem to want to talk to me. She's polite and everything, just doesn't say much. It's depressing to watch everyone else having conversations while she's texting or whatever and I'm trying to think of something to say. Even when I think of something she usually just has a short response. I'm not very good at talking to people but I'm trying to be friendly. I mean I guess she could just be an introvert but I think she has way more friends than I do. It's just, she's so apathetic towards me it's mind boggling. I hate it. I just want her to enjoy the 2 hour session, but nothing is working. What the hell am I even doing here if I can't make a 2 hour lab session at least slightly enjoyable for my lab partner? We worked together on a project outside of class for like 3 hours yesterday and the only time she got really engaged was when I asked her about her landscape photography, and even then I had to prod her. Today in class it was back to square one. I can't stand it. Am I trying too hard? If I didn't say anything I don't think we would talk at all, if she could help it. It's really frustrating. I know if I wanted to I could just forget about her and play with my phone the whole time too, but that would be lame.

Going by what you describe above, it seems to me that - putting it very delicately - she just doesn't seem to like you very much. (Sorry, no other way to say it). There's no interest at all, either friendly or otherwise. I know it must be hard working together in a situation like that, but you have no choice but to focus on your work and "block her" out of your mind. Not easy, but not much more you can do about it.

It's okay if she doesn't like me I guess... I don't want her to be miserable the whole time though, that would suck.