Nine Years Together, 1 Year Married & Out-of-the-Blue Break-up

smilieman

I have never done this before. Aired my feelings online that is, until today. I came accross this forum and was blown away by the support of the community in helping others. For this I am grateful and glad that I have found some support - hopefully.

It's hard at the moment. My wife and I have been married for just 1 short year, but we have been together for 9 years. Our relationship has been superb throughout. We have supported one another through long-term illness and on the little things from day-to-day. We've never had a big argument in all this time, either. At our wedding last year, she told me how much I meant to her and I did to her. It was so beautiful. It's the first time I've been married and I thought about it for years, but it seemed right for us. But she had met a friend to take her to see the lawyer.

She says that she doesn't feel the same way about me as she once did. However, I find it hard that in just a year, without no raised concerns, that she just doesn't love me any more. Not after that wedding! Can this happen? Sure, things have been hard. I've been out of work for a while and fed up at home all the time. But things were on the up, I thought. She never raised any concerns and we always talked about stuff. Well, I thought we did.

She is holding down a responsible public-facing job and coming home to support me. She also took care of all the money side of things and creditors that are permanently demanding money. I can see how this would have been draining for her. I remember her saying that it's hard coming home and feeling she has to cheer me up, almost every day. I think she started to resent me. Even though I was doing my best to both find work and to start up a small business.