Hate all the compliments/terms of endearment!

laboheme

My significant other is absolutely wonderful, but some of the things he says annoy the crap out of me.

1. The compliments. I like compliments!...As long as they are at least somewhat true (that I have great legs, that I'm an awesome cook, etc.). But he insists on things like "You're the most beautiful girl in the world," which is just...GAG.

2. The terms of endearment. I hate being called anything even remotely resembling "sweetie," "darling," and their ilk. He called me "sweetie pie" the other day. Again, GAG. Whatever happened to using names/nicknames?

3. He talks about himself in the third person: "You're lucky your boyfriend enjoys chick flicks" or "Your boyfriend is so (insert adjective)." Third person? And I don't even like the word "boyfriend" -- I prefer something more proper-sounding, like "significant other" or "partner." I know "boyfriend" is in common use. Still, to me, it reeks of high school.

Am I nuts for being bothered? I thought that by now he'd notice that I cringe every time he says something like that. Wishful thinking.

(Oh, and before anyone starts wondering, I don't have any problems expressing affection. I really enjoy all the other cute corny couple-y stuff. I just dislike the language that accompanies it.)

Wow, uh, you sound kinda... I don't know... rigid? He sounds like a really nice guy who treat you well and really values you. Are you sure that's not making you uncomfortable? Like it's too much to try to live upto?

You're right, he treats me amazingly well and seems to value me. I don't know if rigid is the right word, since I really enjoy things like cuddling, holding hands in public, etc. No problems there!