Have you ever started an online relationship?

Amp33

I've been on dating websites on and off for the last 3 years. 98% of the time I only talk to people in my town, because I usually feel it's useless to speak to people who could be so far away and it wouldn't make sense.

Around 3 weeks ago I randomly browsed around and found a man in the US. I'm in Canada on the opposite side of the continent. But something about him really caught my eye so I sent him a messaging asking if he was interested in talking with someone so far away. So we got to talking, and we have so much in common it is unreal. We get along so amazingly. Both of us are already wanting to jump on a plane to visit. Unfortunately our lives are so hectic neither of us are able to for a couple months.

I am unbelievably into this guy. We text constantly, we've had video chats, I know we are both wanting this.

I've never done anything long distance before, and since we are so far apart it worries me that this could be the man I spend my life with, but he lives in a different country.

Please any advice?

When I first started on eHarmony 5 years ago, I was matched with a guy in Oregon (I'm in alberta)...we had that instant connection too. We talked for several hours every night on Skype. I adored him. We were both single parents, and broke...he was in school, I was paying off an expensive separation agreement...so 8 months in, we still hadn't met. We were still skyping daily. I loved him.

I noticed on fb some girl in his city started liking all of his posts....and posting on his wall...and one day, he told me it was just too hard to not have someone to lay next to at night.

He's been with her since. She's really nice. I don't talk to him really anymore. Maybe a random text every year. The emotions faded and now he's just someone that I used to know...and nothing more.

Dating is hard enough without adding in never meeting, different countries, and crazy schedules.