An Unfaithful Boyfriend... Advice

beethoven09

This is my first time here, so bear with me.

I dated a girl (I'll call her Zoe) for nearly four years -- it was both of our's first serious relationship. At the time, we loved each other. But in that fourth year, we took a break, and I met someone else (I'll call her Chloe) in that first month apart. Talking with Chloe helped crystallize the grievances I had with the Zoe. I felt happy in a way I hadn't felt in a long time and we quickly began a relationship once I fully broke up with Zoe.

Now this is where things get ... messy. Zoe and I had dated so long that it was hard to have a clean, no-talking break -- and in some sense, we both still had feelings for each other, her more than me. Within the first couple months of dating Chloe, Zoe and I slept together. I broke up with Chloe after that because of the guilt I felt. After a torturous period, she forgave me and we began dating again. For awhile, all was well.

This was hard for Zoe, though, and even after Chloe and I got back together, we had a few trysts. Several factors contributed to why this happened, but I'm not sure if that changes anything. They were physical encounters without any emotion. It made us both miserable. But as long as Zoe hadn't found someone new, it was too easy for her to turn to me. I acted like a stereotypical male.

After the first time I cheated on Chloe and told her I could never bring myself to tell her I had done so again -- I was afraid it would break her beyond repair, and despite my infidelities, I loved her. To me, the sex was nothing but a drunken, one-night stand.

Now Zoe has found a new boyfriend who made her happy and with whom she could see herself getting married to. We hardly talk anymore and we made a deal to never speak about sex again with each other. I have no feelings beyond friendship for her.