I am 29 should my priority be career or starting a family?

aporia14

I am 29 and my husband is 45. We've been married for 4 years but it has been a difficult 4 years for us financially. My husband changed careers just when we got married and we relocated to another state but he was not able to find permanent employment until this Sept. Due to the state of the economy my career was on a bit of a stand-still as I had to take an accounting job (I am a paralegal) to pay the bills for almost two of the 4 years, then I was recently laid-off from my recent position as a paralegal.

I am interviewing right now and there is a job that seems promising as the hiring managers have basically said that I can have the job if I am willing to accept all the stress that is going to come with it. It is a managerial position which is somthing I do not have on my resume. My husband and I are still in a bit of a financial hole so another income would help a great deal. Unfortunately, this may require us to put-off having a baby. I really want the job but I need to be realistic about what I can handle. Unfortunately, I have ADD and I have been taking Strattera for the past year. Of course I will need to be off the medication at least 3-6 months before getting pregnant, through the pregnancy and while I am breastfeeding.

What should I do? Put-off having a baby for another year or two? Should I take the job and talk to my manager about when would be a good time for family planning? Or, try to find another job (I have been looking for 6 months and there are not any paralegal openings within 25 miles of my home. I would have to fall back into accounting or another job with similar transferable skills and certainly much less money.)