How many of you make over 100K and *hate* your jobs?

kd425

I've been in software/IT for almost 20 years, had an 8 year stint at Microsoft, and currently do database dev for a major company... I get 5 weeks of vacation a year, and I'm charge of very important project that other companies want.... and people admire what I do...

but....

I *HATE* what I do for a living.

This is never what I wanted to be when I grew up. It was just a fall back plan in case an idea I had 15 years ago didn't pan out (it didn't).

Now I own a house in a major west coast city, have a mortage, own two cars (both paid off), am about to buy a boat....

But I fricken *HATE* what I do for a living.

Life is too short.

The funny thing is, I know a lot of people that do what I do hate it too... most stick it out because they have kids. I don't. No wife either (I've had a couple, but it didn't last -- they both wanted kids before I felt ready).

The only reason I've stuck it out is that it feels responsible... sometimes I just want to say *** being responsible...

I don't think salary has much to do with it. I know people who make under 100k and hate their jobs, people who make well over 100k and love, like or are satisfied with their jobs.

It depends on the job requirements and the particular company because in some companies, 100k is on the lower end and thereforeee the expectations are not too onerous, while in others it might be at the top of the pay scale and might come with significant responsibilities and stressful deadlines. I also don't think there should be any presumption that more money means doing a boring, stressful or unethical job.

For example, a part time dermatologist can make well over 100k, while a telemarketer without a college degree, working on commission, might have to work many hours and be on adrenaline 24/7 to clear 100k in commissions.

Couple thoughts: