I can't paint right now, and it's stressing me out.

I don't expect everyone to have a simple answer to this because there probably isn't one. 

I haven't painted anything since June.  I'm a porfessional artist, so this is a problem.  I have a fine art degree.  My work has been in multiple galleries.  I've done multiple book and album covers.  (Even though album covers are a thing of the past in a way because most people don't buy physical media anymore, but they are still used online for promotion, etc.)  I've also been traveling around selling my work on the festival circuit for almost ten years.  (I started in 2014, this upcoming season will be year ten for me.) 

I write, too.  And I've always told people I paint when I'm happy and I write when I'm miserable.  There is this misconception that artists are brooding people who need to suffer a lot for their work, etc.  That's not true at all.  Most of the artists I know (me included) do our best work when we are happy.

Not all art is deep and personal either.  Every work of art isn't the artist working through some trauma or emotional turmoil.  Artists do work for all kinds of reasons.  Some art is create just to sell.  Some artist create things they are interested in.  Like, if an artist really loves owls, and they paint a lot of pictures of owls, that's just because they love owls.  It's not symbolic.  It's not a manifestation of something deep and dark inside them, etc. 

I was in a loving relationship (probably the most healthy relationship I've ever been in) for a time, and then my SO got really depressed.  I was with him for months watching his mental health deteriorate.  And my mental health tanked in the process.  Now I still get texts from people he is close to telling me how much he still loves and misses me, etc.  I still love and miss him too.  But I know it's not possible to be with him.  At least not right now.