My girlfriend doesn't want me to drink, trying to control me

Ashlo

My girlfriend doesn't like when I drink or that I drink. She comes from a household that smokes weed and so she smokes practically all day every day besides when she is working; however I do not as I am a law student and law enforcement officer. she tells me the times where I have gotten pretty drunk I get annoying and irritated more easily. She's told me I overdrink when I am seriously stressed out or really upset about something, I agreed with that. Since her talk with me, I have refrained from drinking if I am upset/stessed. My girlfriend told me she doesn't mind if I have a couple drinks every so often, however, when I have, it becomes a problem and she becomes angry and starts yelling at me. She will insinuate that I am an alcoholic and belittle me (when I drink once every 3 weeks at 4 beers max).

ive told her that I understand how she feels and respect the way she feels and in such, have slowed down on the drinking, and that if I so choose to have, on occasion, a few drinks with my friends, it shouldn't be an issue. Her reply was that I am to do what I want because she can't control what I want to do.

This past weekend, a friends birthday, I was hosting a BBQ at my place and she got mad that I was going to have a couple drinks with my friends while I BBQ, got mad that there was going to be another girl at my place (a friend), and told me that she isn't going to be there to supervise me. I've never cheated on her and wouldn't think to do that.

If you are out of control when you drink - you get angry, irritating and are just not exhibiting positive behavior - i can understand why she gets upset. You clearly are not just having *one* drink - you have a few and get sloppy.