My Husband Doesn't Find Me Beautiful

FirTree7

Hi

This is my first time writing in a forum. But I really need some advice or some different perspectives.

The story:

My husband and I are married for 1 year now. I love him and with his personality he’s surely the one for me. Things were going great until he told me that he doesn’t find me very beautiful. He finds my personality attractive but doesn’t really like how I look. This was devastating for me! I hear it often from men (and women) that they think I’m beautiful, my eyes are amazing, my body etc. I just assumed that because he married me, that he finds me pretty.

Since he told me the truth, I struggle every day. I’m trying everything now; shopping new clothes, spending hours in the bathroom styling myself, try to be the best wife in all kind of areas; household, sex, encouragement… But he doesn’t even realize it. So I brought the topic up again and he just said “I told you the truth. I’m not apologizing for being honest”.

Well yes, thanks for not lying -.-

I don’t know how to accept this situation. My confident sinks every day, I’m building a wall between my husband and me that he doesn’t hurt me anymore. And it’s hard for me to withdraw when other men are attracted to me.

How should I handle this situation? And what will happen in a few years when I get pregnant and gain weight? I will be even more unattractive to him ☹

Any advice?

Oh my god, what a terrible thing to say to your wife!! Or to anyone for that matter! I'm so sorry to hear you've been made feel this way by the person who loves you. Just out of curiosity, in all the time you've known him did he ever tell you you were beautiful? Is this the way he claims he's always felt or is it a recent development? Does he treat you well generally or does he have a tendency to try and put you down?