Career dilemma

Hoagy

Hi everyone, I've been away for a couple of years but now I'm back. I have a question about my career choices.

The past year I've started retraining for a new career. I feel this is my calling. It's the job I would continue to do even if I won the lottery. I have some practical experience in the field from volunteering.

To complete the degree and qualify will take the next two or three years before I can practice and start earning. During this time it would be difficult to find part-time work that will pay much because of the hours I'll have to commit to study and the obligitary unpaid work placement. I'm fortunate that I have quite a bit in savings - not a fortune but enough to stop me from starving while studying as long as I tighten my belt. The point is, I'm looking at the next three years without a regular income.

But it is very tempting to just drop the studies and go out and just get any job. This will mean I can be earning and can get a new apartment (which I reaaly need) and maybe even a new girlfriend (I've already been on my own too long). And I'm not getting any younger.

If I continue with my studies and play the long game then I can potentially get a job paying £20-£25,000 a year and perhaps up to £35,000 in ten years. If I take the quick and easy option it's unlikely I'd be earning more than £15-£20,000 p/a over the same period.

That's the dilemma. Short term gain or grit my teeth and hope it pays off long-term.

Any advice would be very welcome.