Law School - Is it worth it?

Hi all,

Here's some pondering about the next step to take in my career, looking for some advice. I graduated from undergraduate school cum laude in 2013 and promptly moved across the country to one of the most expensive cities in the US. Since being here, I've done everything possible to be able to live here comfortably and I'm pretty proud of the fact that I "made it", as in I'm a 25-year-old woman with a good job, benefits, and enough money to live comfortably in a city where everything is inflated in price, and state income tax depletes your paycheck regularly.

That being said, I'm still itching for something better, something bigger. I've always wanted to make a difference in the world in some way. I consider myself a humanist above all. Right now, I'm lucky to be in the position I am today. I landed a job back in March 2016 working for two companies. The back story is as follows: the main company is a land use firm and the Principal of this company is a 61-year-old trained biologist, alumni of Notre Dame. The work done at this firm is very complicated and it takes a long time to complete projects. His expertise in biology is sought after by private developers, government agencies, etc... as it is paired with his knowledge of laws and regulations regarding land use in California. For 10 years, my other boss worked under him and eventually became the Vice President of the land use firm until he decided to break off and start his own law firm. They are still very close friends, and share the office space still. The law firm specializes in surrogacy law, we typically represent the intended parents. This firm has brought in around $1 million in profit this year and will only continue to grow. My other boss is the Principal and sole practitioner of the firm as of now (until our colleague passes his BAR exam).