Crappy friends or no friends?

somechick99

I'm new to my current city (one year ago I moved here) and have always been shy/not great at branching out. It took me this long just to find people who accepted me and I get along with. But there are major character flaws with each person to the point I'm sure most of you would advise not remaining friends. (Not saying I'm perfect but keep reading)

One of the friends is loyal as hell in personality and will stand up for me to anyone and have my back any day. However she drives drunk with friends in the car (she will take shots while driving, literally) and has a selective, aggressive personality. She is very fiesty and has zero problem yelling at anyone or causing a scene if not getting her way. In addition to driving drunk she will speed 100+ miles per hour. If me or anyone else expresses concern she will not really take it seriously and probably would get mad. It's only a matter of time before she either gets us all in a major accident or in legal trouble at this rate.

My other main acquaintance is the opposite. She would never do something that dumb and crazy, yet never has my back and constantly takes from me while giving nothing in return. It's to the point I feel used by her. She asks for favors constantly but acts annoyed or busy when I do it back to her.

I'm not trying to play victim, I understand this is within my control and I need to look out for myself. It's just been forever since having friends I could chill with whenever, and I'm getting over depression which having no friends could make pretty hard. I'd almost rather have crappy friends and have stuff to do than nothing at all.

How to make non crappy friends and handle the current ones? Even if I remove myself from the above situations I want to at least be on decent terms with these people as I work with them