I can't find work - really starting to worry

LazyDaisy

Hi ENA,

I have been looking for a job for over a year. I managed to get a 6 month temp job which is ending the end of November. Other than that I can't find any work. I will be going back on unemployment but that is hardly enough to cover my bills and its only for 6 months. I am so scared. I don't want to end up losing my home and everything I own. I'm a single mom. I don't know what is going to happen to me and my son.

I have tried everything, temp jobs, recruiting agencies, applying for jobs that pay less than half of what I used to make. I have tried networking, career shows. I don't know what else to do.

I have an MBA and 20 years experience in a certain type of accounting.

Any advice would be appreciated. I am so scared, and feel like such a loser.

Is there a course you can take to learn more general accounting or the type that is in demand? There are a lot of small business owners that find their accountants are not versed in ecommerce and wish they were. Could you learn that and then set your shingle up and go freelance? What about taking on a job over the holidays at a high end store that is looking for people? It may be not what you want, but it will get you through January and if you are at a store that sells high end designer clothing or business suits, you might create a rapport with professionals who like you and might want to hire you. I worked at a high end store and created relationships with people to the point where they offered me a job. Also, I would seriously downsize if you have not - get rid of cable, maybe look for a new place to live that matches your new income.

I'm thinking about going back to college. But that costs money and I really don't want to spend what I don't have.

I will sell my house if I have to, but I will not get nearly what I paid for it and then where do I go? No one is going to rent me an apartment if I don't have a job.

Lazy, Is this true?