Please help! I'm thinking of reconciling.

trishlove

Hello guys, I am thinking of reconciling with my ex. However, I need some opinions before I act on it. Please help me.

My ex called it quits because he is currently in a financial crisis. He’s a university student and I’m a graduate student. We’ve been dating for two years and we assured each other that those two years were the best years of our lives. However, in the middle of our relationship my ex encountered problems with money. I personally have no issues with his financial capabilities. It’s just that we’ve reached the point when we can’t go on dates or go to places unless I shell out for him.

We are already in a phase where we are already comfortable with each other, so we have to find new ways to spend time together. For a long time my ex was getting very disappointed with himself because he felt like he couldn’t give me what I wanted. He felt like I’d be happy with someone else, so he broke up with me and promised to look for me when he’s already successful -about five years from now. He described himself as someone tied to a rock, and he felt like he couldn’t be a good boyfriend unless he releases himself from that rock.

Now I’m not the type who believes in promises, and five years can brought about drastic changes on our lives and our personalities. Thus, I’m not counting on his promise to return. I really treated the break up as an ultimate end, but I didn’t tell him this.

Another thing was that I was also getting uncomfortable with his financial problem. It’s unfair and insensitive of me, but there are times when I show disappointment when he couldn’t take me out on dates. However, I was willing to wait for him to graduate, which was why I didn’t break up with him despite his financial problem.