Online dating. POST YOUR EXPERIENCES HERE.

deadmareish

I am brand new to the dating game. Having broken up with long term boyfriend just months ago, and then after following him around like a lost puppy, I have never in 22 years ever been on 'Dates.'

Working full time - 5 days a week, having literally no single friends and living in a small town - I find it hard to meet new people. The only time I could possibly meet some one is out painting the town red. However, being 22 now I think in my perspective I am too old to hit the town, make out with a bunch of guys or to take one home. That's fine when you turn 18 and it's all a new experience and you're living your life. But I've done all that! I also think guys you meet out in town are only out for one thing. I have only once seen a relationship come from two people meeting on a night out. so I am considering doing the online dating thing.

In all honesty the online dating thing never appealed to me. I find it a long uncomfortable process. Plus from what I've heard most of the type of people that use these things are below standards. I have met someone through the dating app 'Tinder' and he's a cool guy, only nothing more has come out of it and we're really just pen pals rather then it leading anywhere.

I also find it extreme effort to faff around making a profile just for people to only really judge you on your picture anyway!

Having been in a long term relationship I realise I don't want to go back to the one night hook ups / losers messaging me all the time.

I'm not saying I need a relationship straight away, but it would be nice to find someone that I am sure I can work towards something.

I made this thread because I thought it would be fun to post experiences of online dating/dating. Good or bad. The fun dates, the lame dates, the best dates and the worse dates!

Has anyone ever had a successful relationship through online dating?