Ex asked me to return gifts. Should I agree?

Maroon

Nope and nope. It's not common for a dumper to ask for gifts back (as far as I know), and you should NOT agree. Gifts are gifts. Once she gave them, they weren't hers anymore. It's one thing if she let you borrow something, but if she gave it to you for a birthday or other occasion, it's yours. It's pretty tacky, actually, for someone who dumped you to ask for their gifts back. Wow. The nerve of some people.

It's much the same emotion involved as dumpees giving them back because they don't want them because of what they make them feel ( at breakup time it's all raw emotion)

If it was something substantial ... car.. engagement ring etc then yes

cuddly toys.... xbox games hell no it's just not done and it seems like she is trying to trigger your emotions

i am no expert on mind reading though

Anything given in contemplation of marriage such as a ring, watch, something of that nature should be returned.

At one time it was customary to return gifts but that was a long time ago. I think things have changed now.

Why broke up with whom?

It is not customary unless it was something that was given in contemplation of spending the rest of your lives together as stated above. The only reasons I can think are either a) for some reason he/she is feeling hurt/ cheated from your relationship (maybe he/she thinks that you cheated? or that you betrayed or took advantage of them in some other way) and this is an immature way to retaliate or b) he/she is stingy. Why did they break up with you?

Thanks for all your responses everyone! Much appreciated.

I'm not yet 100% sure if I should return the gifts. These gifts are actually just small items we gave each other during the relationship. I believe she asked for the gifts back simply out of anger and resentment. It's heartbreaking to return stuff.

Just some additional information.