my husband's job is his mistress

How do I get my husband to understand that he cares more about his job than me? I've tried telling him what a zombie he is most of the time when we're together, because he is preoccupied with work. He works in upper management in a very stressful work environment. I never realized how much politics and competition there is among men. I swear some men would step on their own grandmother to climb the ladder. Anyway, he works long hours and even when he's here I feel like he's not really "here".

Well, this is a big issue. When they ask men what is the most important thing in their lives, they will say their job while women will say their family. So right there you have your answer. Yes, a man's job is more important than their relationships. The occupation defines a man. They introduce themselves as I'm a banker. I'm a real estate agent. I'm a dentist. I'm an executive. They don't say I'm a father. I'm a husband. Their jobs are what they are.

The other side of the issue is to get big pay, you've got to do the hours. You don't make it in the business world by leaving at 5 pm. You don't get a house and a car or two without working for it. Being poor doesn't make a couple happier. So it's a trade off.

Anyways, you can make things easier for him if you give him some support. Do whatever you can to try to relax him when he comes home. Try to do things for him that he can't do himself. Have his favorite things ready for him. In a guy's mind, he's also working hard to give you the things you want. Just try to help him in any way you can. That's how you can get his thanks and affection.