This is for all of you...

Today I had a minor epiphany.

I work as a video editor and I was going through some raw video tapes today for archiving purposes, some of these were a couple years old. Well, on one tape there's a shot of my ex talking to the client and setting up the shot. This was before she and I were dating or even remotely interested in each other.

I looked at it, and at first I got this weird feeling in my chest. She looked so beautiful, and so many good memories flooded my mind. I sat back for a moment and basked in it, and it honestly almost made me cry, but not in a bad way.

Normally, I would have to scan off the shot and go to something else, or I would start to get depressed about that sort of thing. Today I did something different. I looked at her for a long time and tried to remember that day. I could remember how I saw her that day, before she became my best friend, before she became my lover, and before she became my ex... when she was just some woman I worked with.

I can remember how I thought she was a little b1tchy, she had acne, she didn't really have an outstanding figure (she's a great dresser though), and her hair was always a little bit of an over curled mess. But after time, friendship, and a year of shared experience, I began to love that acne ridden, sorta flat, frizzy haired b1tch.

I guess this may be hard to understand if you haven't been there, but maybe it won't be. I realized then how important first impressions are, but how unimportant they should be. Bean* wasn't incredibly attractive, but she was when she was my Bean. Bean could be b1tchy, but I loved hearing her opinion because she was talking to me. Because I had shared a part of my life (both emotionally, physically, and temporally) with her, she became more than what she appears to many. She became mine...