Have I been effectively demoted ?

I’ve been working in my current company for around 7 months as a senior group accountant. Within the first 3 months my line manager went on maternity leave. As my interview was on zoom I had no idea she was pregnant until I joined! She was a bit abrasive and I sensed she didn’t like me that much and was much nicer to my peer in the same position who’d joined 6m prior. 

Around the 3 month mark she went on maternity leave and we got 18m maternity cover. Before she left she gave me a brief probation review (I passed obv). It was broadly neutral with the criticisms that I needed to become more proficient with their accounting software and better at identifying who the right people to reach out to on various areas in the global organisation as in my early days I’d ask her who was best places for various pieces of info. And some praise for some of the accounting papers I’d written and financial models I’d developed.

She did the handover and her replacement took over. She recognised my strengths lay more in technical accounting and got me to lead a project to upgrade their finance manual with more detailed accounting policies and produce most of the content and I was also assigned some of the more technical memos requested by the auditors and also am doing most of the work preparing the statutory financial accounts. Meanwhile my colleague is doing a lot more on the management reporting ie monthly management accounts. 

She’s delegated most of her predecessors job description to my colleague and myself and a guy in India who leads the India team of outsourced accountants. So incredibly hands off to the point of doing nothing. So our workloads have all increased considerably. She’s supposed to be head of group accounting but my colleague is now effectively running the monthly management reporting process and I’m effectively running the finance manual project and production of the statutory accounts.