Getting into Real Estate

So I was curious if anyone is in real estate? Care to share advice/insight for getting into it?

I am 30, I have a masters degree in business and marketing. I love house hunting, interior design, and marketing. I like a flexible schedule of work, working from home, and constant changing work. 

Currently,  I teach at a community college. It's very much the same, I'm not really using a ton of my business degree. It's a nice pace, not stressful, good benefits, and I do like it. 

I sometimes think that I'd be good at real estate. I have creative ideas, am good at marketing, and like working with people. 

Curious if anyone can offer insight about it?

My best friend tried real estate sales. I'll tell you up front she did not have a good experience.

She had to complete a lot of schooling despite having a degree. The initial schooling cost her about $1200. Once that was done she signed on with a well known agency. She was required to take a lot of continuing education classes which cost her several hundred more dollars. All in all I think she said she spent about $5k.

One thing she didn't count on was having to work evenings and weekends. Think about it; most people who can afford to buy homes have jobs, and those jobs are usually regular weekday working hours. Which means the only time they have to view homes is evenings and weekends. Her phone rang from mid afternoon to 9:00 pm, every night. She had to do showings evenings and weekends as well. So she literally had almost no time with her husband and kids. And she couldn't just shut off her phone or she would miss calls from potential clients.

Also, she was required to meet a quota of a certain number of sales per month. She never met that quota. Not once. Now, the market is hot right now so you probably wouldn't have trouble meeting a quota as long as you're willing to work evenings and weekends.